I Enjoy A Pint On Occasion

Says Chris Johnson who researches and reviews online beer and wine clubs.

Yes, it’s true, but who could blame me, really? I have never had a beer come back to haunt me, like whiskey or vodka does, and beer has never betrayed me to my wife. Not one drop of that beautiful nectar has gotten me into a battle of fisticuffs, or got me thrown in the tank for a night. No, I must admit that, of all the spirits that I’ve known, beer is the friendliest.

beer

Maybe it’s because I enjoy it so much, that I savour each mouthful for longer than average. That would mean that even though I am sitting around until all hours of the night drinking beer, I am in fact drinking less than I would if it were wine or rum. I used to spend a lot of time trying to find new and different beers to taste, and once I had hit the small selection of liquor stores in my town, my choices were limited to mostly domestic brands, with a few imports and microbrewery highlights.

You may think that I sound like a beer snob, but really I’m not. Isn’t there something that you love to do? Something that you don’t get technical about, but still find happiness in just doing it? Well, that’s beer and boating for me. I don’t know what hops are what, or what kind of yeast was used to give the beer its aroma. I leave that up to the Beer Club Guide to figure that stuff out. I just like to taste it. To experience it for a moment, and then go on with my life.

Oh right, I mentioned boating. Well, I don’t own a boat, and I don’t care how a boat works, but I love being out on the open water, basking in the beauty and the peacefulness of it all. Drinking in the sun, and possibly even a nice cold German pilsner or perhaps an IPA from Nova Scotia. Again, it’s one of those things that I love to enjoy, but I could really care less about the steps involved in getting me to that point. I would rather spend my time in the blissful joy of the experience, than analyzing the mechanisms that brought that happiness about. Like my wife says, I’m almost complex in my simplicity. She may very well be right.

This article is brought to you by Chris Johnson who researches and reviews online beer and wine clubs.

